Last month I found myself consciously delaying my decision to taste a new wine made by relatives. I knew it would be very good, but somehow I was not ready to open it. I was enjoying so much my future encounter with it that I wanted to extend the pleasure of anticipation. Perhaps this is the essence of happiness, being able to project ourselves into better moments and start living them before they arrive. A few days ago, however, I finally felt the call of duty and opened the new wine.

Marques de Valdueza comes from an ancient estate near Mérida, the Roman city in Extremadura, and confirms that these days you can find extraordinary wines anywhere in Spain. Valdueza 2006 is an original and powerful wine made with Caubernet Savignon and Shyraz grapes. This is a wine you need to decant at least an hour before you start drinking it, something really crucial to enjoy it. I have not tried yet the 2007 edition but I know Merlot grapes have been added and I have already heard wonderful things about it: more anticipated pleasure!

The Valdueza project started with the creation of an outstanding olive oil under this this glorious name. Marques de Valdueza olive oil became ultra famous very quickly -it even got the attention of the FT Magazine “How to Spend it”, that raved about it as if the oil was the best Bordeaux of the century.

In spite of its international success, the Valdueza olive oil and now the wine are symbols of permanent values. Behind them there is a story of love and dedication to the Spanish countryside of generations, continued now by Alonso Valdueza and his son Fadrique. Alonso is a legendary hunter, much like his father was. He leads the Spanish movement to save the “cañadas”, the medieval transhumance system of paths, along which livestock was permitted to travel and graze. These “cañadas” cross Spain and have been used for centuries to search for lusher lands. Well, drinking Valdueza is a bit like moving South, we nomads, in anticipation of greener pastures.